HF Virtual Book Tours invites you to follow Vicky Alvear Shecter as she tours the blogosphere for Curses and Smoke: A Novel of Pompeii from May 26-June 13.

Curses and SmokePublication Date: May 27, 2014
Arthur A. Levine Books
Formats: Hardcover, eBook

Genre: YA Historical

Add to GR Button
 

When your world blows apart, what will you hold onto?

TAG is a medical slave, doomed to spend his life healing his master’s injured gladiators. But his warrior’s heart yearns to fight in the gladiator ring himself and earn enough money to win his freedom.

LUCIA is the daughter of Tag’s owner, doomed by her father’s greed to marry a much older Roman man. But she loves studying the natural world around her home in Pompeii, and lately she’s been noticing some odd occurrences in the landscape: small lakes disappearing; a sulfurous smell in the air…

When the two childhood friends reconnect, each with their own longings, they fall passionately in love. But as they plot their escape from the city, a patrician fighter reveals his own plans for them — to Lucia’s father, who imprisons Tag as punishment. Then an earthquake shakes Pompeii, in the first sign of the chaos to come. Will they be able to find each other again before the volcano destroys their whole world?

Buy the Book

Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Book Depository
Books-a-Million
Fishpond
Powell’s
Waterstones

About the AuthorVicky Alvear Shecter

Vicky Alvear Shecter is the author of the young adult novel, CLEOPATRA’S MOON (Arthur A. Levine Books/Scholastic, 2011), based on the life of Cleopatra’s only daughter. She is also the author of two award-winning biographies for kids on Alexander the Great and Cleopatra. She is a docent at the Michael C. Carlos Museum of Antiquities at Emory University in Atlanta.

Author Links

Website
Blog
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads

Virtual Book Tour Schedule

Monday, May 26
Review at Flashlight Commentary
Review & Giveaway at The Mad Reviewer

Tuesday, May 27
Guest Post & Giveaway at Flashlight Commentary

Wednesday, May 28
Review & Giveaway at Fiction Folio

Thursday, May 29
Review at Good Books and Good Wine

Friday, May 30
Guest Post at Good Books and Good Wine

Monday, June 2
Review at Oh, For the Hook of a Book

Tuesday, June 3
Review at Geek Girl’s Book Blog
Interview & Giveaway at Oh, For the Hook of a Book

Wednesday, June 4
Review at Book Drunkard

Thursday, June 5
Review at Book Lovers Paradise

Friday, June 6
Review at Manga Maniac Cafe

Monday, June 9
Review at Bibliophilia, Please
Review & Giveaway at A Bookish Affair

Tuesday, June 10
Review & Giveaway at Historical Tapestry

Wednesday, June 11
Review at The Book Belles
Spotlight & Giveaway at Passages to the Past

Thursday, June 12
Review at Let Them Read Books
Review at Svetlana’s Reads and Views

Friday, June 13
Review at Broken Teepee
Guest Post & Giveaway at Let Them Read Books

 photo cc127062-fe28-482d-bb63-b9cfbb603f3b.png

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.