Down a Dark River
by Karen Odden

Publication Date: November 9, 2021
Crooked Lane Books
Hardcover & eBook; 336 pages

Series: An Inspector Corravan Mystery, Book One
Genre: Historical Mystery

 

 

In the vein of C. S. Harris and Anne Perry, Karen Odden’s mystery introduces Inspector Michael Corravan as he investigates a string of vicious murders that has rocked Victorian London’s upper crust.

London, 1878. One April morning, a small boat bearing a young woman’s corpse floats down the murky waters of the Thames. When the victim is identified as Rose Albert, daughter of a prominent judge, the Scotland Yard director gives the case to Michael Corravan, one of the only Senior Inspectors remaining after a corruption scandal the previous autumn left the division in ruins. Reluctantly, Corravan abandons his ongoing case, a search for the missing wife of a shipping magnate, handing it over to his young colleague, Mr. Stiles.

An Irish former bare-knuckles boxer and dockworker from London’s seedy East End, Corravan has good street sense and an inspector’s knack for digging up clues. But he’s confounded when, a week later, a second woman is found dead in a rowboat, and then a third. The dead women seem to have no connection whatsoever. Meanwhile, Mr. Stiles makes an alarming discovery: the shipping magnate’s missing wife, Mrs. Beckford, may not have fled her house because she was insane, as her husband claims, and Mr. Beckford may not be the successful man of business that he appears to be.

Slowly, it becomes clear that the river murders and the case of Mrs. Beckford may be linked through some terrible act of injustice in the past—for which someone has vowed a brutal vengeance. Now, with the newspapers once again trumpeting the Yard’s failures, Corravan must dredge up the truth—before London devolves into a state of panic and before the killer claims another innocent victim.

Available for Pre-Order

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | BAM | IndieBound

Praise for Down a Dark River

“An original, street-smart detective, an intriguing mystery, and delicious Victorian flavor. All my favorite things!” —Laura Joh Rowland, author of The Ripper’s Shadow, a Victorian Mystery

About the Author

Karen Odden earned her Ph.D. in English from New York University and subsequently taught literature at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. She has contributed essays to numerous books and journals, written introductions for Victorian novels in the Barnes & Noble classics series, and edited for the journal Victorian Literature and Culture (Cambridge UP). Her previous novels, also set in 1870s London, have won awards for historical fiction and mystery. A member of Mystery Writers of America and Sisters in Crime and the recipient of a grant from the Arizona Commission on the Arts, Karen lives in Arizona with her family and her rescue beagle Rosy.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | BookBub | Goodreads

Blog Tour Schedule

Wednesday, November 3
Review at NurseBookie
Review at Debjani’s Thoughts
Excerpt at Books, Ramblings, and Tea

Thursday, November 4
Review at Two Bookish Babes

Friday, November 5
Review at Books, Cooks, Looks

Monday, November 8
Review at Gwendalyn’s Books

Tuesday, November 9
Interview at Books & Benches

Wednesday, November 10
Excerpt at The Lit Bitch
Review at Crystal’s Library

Thursday, November 11
Review at Books and Backroads

Friday, November 12
Excerpt at What Is That Book About

Saturday, November 13
Review at A Darn Good Read

Monday, November 15
Review at Jessica Belmont

Tuesday, November 16
Review at Historical Fiction with Spirit

Wednesday, November 17
Interview at Jathan & Heather
Review and Excerpt at Older and Smarter

Thursday, November 18
Excerpt at I’m All About Books

Friday, November 19
Review at Niki Loves to Read

Monday, November 22
Review at Reading is My Remedy

Tuesday, November 23
Review at Chicks, Rogues, and Scandals

Wednesday, November 24
Review at Reader_ceygo

Friday, November 26
Interview at Reader_ceygo

Monday, November 29
Review at Amy’s Booket List

Tuesday, November 30
Review at Rajiv’s Reviews

Wednesday, December 1
Review at Coffee and Ink
Review at The Enchanted Shelf

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *