Monday, November 21, 2022

Blog Tour: A Shape on the Air by Julia Ibbotson

Posted By amy @ 10:24 am | No Comments

A Shape on the Air
by Julia Ibbotson

Publication Date: October 9, 2021

Genre: Historical Mystery
Series: Dr. DuLac, Book 1

 

 

For fans of Barbara Erskine, Pamela Hartshorne, Susanna Kearsley, Christina Courtenay

Can echoes of the past threaten the present? They are 1500 years apart, but can they reach out to each other across the centuries? One woman faces a traumatic truth in the present day. The other is forced to marry the man she hates as the ‘dark ages’ unfold.

How can Dr Viv DuLac, medievalist and academic, unlock the secrets of the past? Traumatised by betrayal, she slips into 499 AD and into the body of Lady Vivianne, who is also battling treachery. Viv must uncover the mystery of the key that she unwittingly brings back with her to the present day, as echoes of the past resonate through time. But little does Viv realise just how much both their lives across the centuries will become so intertwined. And in the end, how can they help each other across the ages without changing the course of history?

Available on Amazon

Praise for Julia Ibbotson and A Shape on the Air

“In the best Barbara Erskine tradition … I would highly recommend this novel” Historical Novel Society

“Amazing …a really great book …I just couldn’t put it down” Hazel Morgan

“a beautiful tale … a must-read for fans of time-slip and time-travel” Cathie Dunn

“gripping, with a very real sense of sense of threat and danger, an enthralling mystery focused on hidden treasure, a wholly convincing romance, all across both timelines! Anne Williams

“Lovely identifiable heroines in both time periods … I love the strength and vulnerability” Melissa Morgan

“Meticulously researched and wonderfully evocative. Loved it!” Anne Harvey

About the Author

Acclaimed, award-winning author Julia Ibbotson is fascinated by the medieval world and the concept of resonances across time. She read English at Keele University, England (after a turbulent but exciting gap year in Ghana, West Africa) specialising in medieval language, literature and history, and has a PhD in socio-linguistics. She wrote her first novel at 10 years of age, but became a school teacher, then an academic as a senior university lecturer and researcher.

She has published a number of books, including memoir, children’s medieval fantasy, a trilogy set in Ghana, and medieval time-slip, as well as academic works. Apart from insatiable reading, she loves travelling the world, singing in choirs, swimming, yoga and walking in the countryside in England and Madeira where she and her husband divide their time.

Website | Blog | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads