Oct 31 - Nov 18
Oct 11 - Oct 18
Sep 26 - Oct 14
Sep 21 - Oct 14
Sep 26 - Oct 12
Sep 05 - Sep 30
Sep 19 - Sep 30
Sep 06 - Sep 23
Nov 14 - Dec 09
Nov 14 - Dec 09
Nov 14 - Dec 09
Nov 21 - Dec 09
Dec 05 - Dec 16
Nov 28 - Dec 30
Dec 05 - Jan 07
Jan 09 - Jan 13
Dec 19 - Jan 13
Jan 17 - Feb 03
Feb 13 - Feb 24
Jan 23 - Feb 28
Wednesday, July 27, 2022

Blog Tour: The Highlander’s Tudor Lass by Heather McCollum

Posted By amy @ 8:23 am | No Comments

The Highlander’s Tudor Lass
by Heather McCollum

Publication Date: August 22, 2022
Entangled Publishing/Scandalous

Genre: Historical Romance
Series: Brothers of Wolf Isle, Book 3

 

 

Callum Macquarie would give anything to go back to the Highlands and Wolf Isle. Instead, he’s stuck circling an undefended English castle in too-tight breeches, longing for his bed and his plaid. But he has an oath to keep: to bring home the bonny Anna Montgomerie and her sister before that devil of a blaggard pirate Jundeau finds them first. Only the lass he’s come to rescue has no interest in going back to Scotland with him. Or ever.

To hell with Callum and his oath. Anna won’t step one foot in Scotland—no matter the danger. Not after what she’s left behind, and not while there’s a chance she can remain in England. But she has a plan. And the only hitch involves a braw, fiercely protective highlander who refuses to leave…and whose touch burns hotter than fire.

Now Anna and Callum are caught between the threat coming for Anna. Staying means danger. Leaving means death. And a blazing attraction that could spoil everyone’s plans.

Each book in the Brothers of Wolf Isle series is STANDALONE:

* The Highlander’s Unexpected Proposal
* The Highlander’s Pirate Lass
* The Highlander’s Tudor Lass

Amazon | Barnes and Noble

About the Author

Heather McCollum is an award-winning, historical romance writer. With over twenty books published, she is an Amazon Best Seller and a Readers’ Choice winner.

The rugged beauty and rich history of Great Britain captivates Ms. McCollum each time she visits. The country’s history and landscape have been a backdrop for her stories since her very first book.

When she is not dreaming up adventures and conflict for brawny Highlanders and feisty heroines, she spends her time educating women on the symptoms of Ovarian Cancer. She is a survivor and resides with her very own Highland hero and three spirited children in the wilds of suburbia on the mid-Atlantic coast.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Goodreads

The Portraitist: A Novel of Adelaide Labille-Guiard
by Susanne Dunlap

Publication Date: August 30, 2022
She Writes Press

Genre: Historical Fiction

 

 

Based on a true story, this is the tale of Adélaïde Labille-Guiard’s fight to take her rightful place in the competitive art world of eighteenth-century Paris.

With a beautiful rival who’s better connected and better trained than she is, Adélaïde faces an uphill battle. Her love affair with her young instructor in oil painting gives rise to suspicions that he touches up her work, and her decision to make much-needed money by executing erotic pastels threatens to create as many problems as it solves. Meanwhile, her rival goes from strength to strength, becoming Marie Antoinette’s official portraitist and gaining entrance to the elite Académie Royale at the same time as Adélaïde.

When at last Adélaïde earns her own royal appointment and receives a massive commission from a member of the royal family, the timing couldn’t be worse: it’s 1789, and with the fall of the Bastille her world is turned upside down by political chaos and revolution. With danger around every corner in her beloved Paris, she must find a way to adjust to the new order, carving out a life and a career all over again—and stay alive in the process.

Buy The Portraitist

Praise

“An imaginative work that brings the story of a little-known artist to vivid life.” –Kirkus Reviews

“Deeply researched and imagined, The Portraitist offers a fascinating and dramatic plunge into the world of a brilliant female artist, struggling to make her mark before and during the turbulent and treacherous era of the French Revolution. I loved this novel.” –Sandra Gulland, international bestselling author of The Josephine Trilogy

“Written with breathless drama, The Portraitist follows the rise of the gifted portraitist Adélaïde Labille-Guiard in Paris during the last years of the late eighteenth century. The novel is a luminous depiction of Paris and those terrible times seen through the astute, compassionate eyes of a woman who had to paint. Every bit of lace, or royal carriage or bloody cobblestone is alive in the writing. The rain drumming on the skylight and a misbuttoned coat speak. Go to those streets with this book in your hand to follow her footsteps and those long-gone turbulent times will come alive to you as if they were yesterday.” –Stephanie Cowell, award-winning author of Claude and Camille

“In The Portraitist, Susanne Dunlap skillfully paints a portrait of a woman struggling to make her way in a man’s world — a topic as relevant today as it was in Ancien Regime France. Impeccably researched, rich with period detail, Dunlap brings to life the little known true story of Adélaïde Labille-Guiard, who fought her husband and society to make a name for herself as a painter to the royal family, the very apex of success– only to find everything she had built threatened by the Revolution. A stunning story of determination, talent, and reversals of fortune. As a lifelong Elisabeth Vigée-LeBrun fan, I am now questioning my allegiances!” –Lauren Willig, New York Times bestselling author of The Summer Country and Band of Sisters

“[The Portraitist is a] luminous novel of Adélaïde Labille-Guiard, whose livelihood and longing for respect are threatened by the institutions that deny women artists their due, compounded by the tumultuous events of the French Revolution. Deftly written and impeccably researched. Highly recommended.” –Michelle Cameron, award-winning author of Beyond the Ghetto Gates

About the Author

Susanne Dunlap is the author of twelve works of historical fiction for adults and teens, as well as an Author Accelerator Certified Book Coach. Her love of historical fiction arose partly from her studies in music history at Yale University (PhD, 1999), partly from her lifelong interest in women in the arts as a pianist and non-profit performing arts executive. Her novel The Paris Affair won first place in its category in the CIBA Dante Rossetti awards for Young Adult Fiction. The Musician’s Daughter was a Junior Library Guild Selection and a Bank Street Children’s Book of the Year, and was nominated for the Utah Book Award and the Missouri Gateway Reader’s Prize. In the Shadow of the Lamp was an Eliot Rosewater Indiana High School Book Award nominee. Susanne earned her BA and an MA (musicology) from Smith College, and lives in Biddeford, ME, with her little dog Betty.

For more information, please visit Susanne Dunlap’s website. You can follow author Susanne Dunlap on Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Instagram, Pinterest, and BookBub.

Blog Tour Schedule

Tuesday, August 30
Review at Gwendalyn’s Books
Review at A Potpourri of Opinions

Wednesday, August 31
Review at Little But Fierce Book Diary

Thursday, September 1
Review at Coffee and Ink
Feature at Books, Ramblings, and Tea

Friday, September 2
Review at The Page Ladies

Sunday, September 4
Review at 100 Pages a Day

Monday, September 5
Feature at The Cozy Book Blog
Review at History from a Woman’s Perspective

Tuesday, September 6
Review at Reading is My Remedy

Wednesday, September 7
Review at Pursuing Stacie

Thursday, September 8
Excerpt at Books, Cooks, Looks

Giveaway

Enter to win a paperback copy or Audiobook of The Portraitist by Susanne Dunlap!

The giveaway is open to the US only and ends on September 8th. You must be 18 or older to enter.

The Portraitist

Friday, June 3, 2022

Samantha Grosser on Blog Tour for Out of the Ashes, August 8-31

Posted By amy @ 7:26 am | 1 Comment

Out of the Ashes: A Novel of WWII
by Samantha Grosser

Publication Date: August 4, 2022

Genre: Historical Fiction

 

 

England 1944. Amid the ruins of the Second World War, an illegal and tentative friendship begins.

War widow Clare Chapman is still grieving for her husband when the first German prisoners of war arrive in the village. Horrified by the presence of the enemy so close at hand, she knows it is only a matter of time until she is forced to face them.

German soldier Max Peterson has received no news of his family for almost two years when he arrives as a prisoner in England, and all he wants is to go home to Berlin to search for them. But meeting Clare Chapman in the village high street on a cold autumn morning changes everything. So begins an unexpected friendship.

Their secret doesn’t last. Shunned by family and friends for illegal fraternisation with the enemy, Clare risks losing all that she has. Then long-held secrets are brought to light and she must make a devastating choice.

In a world that has changed beyond recognition, can they find a way to build a future together, or will their happiness be destroyed by the burdens of the past?

An enthralling novel of love, forgiveness, and second chances perfect for fans of Deborah Swift, Sebastian Faulks and Ellen Feldman.

Available on Amazon

About the Author

Samantha Grosser is a very British author who doesn’t function without tea. Having spent many years teaching English in Asia and Australia, she has made a permanent home in Sydney, Australia, where she now lives with her husband, son, and a very small dog called Livvy. She is the author of wartime dramas Another Time and Place, The Officer’s Affair, and Out of the Ashes, and the historical fantasy series Web of Witches. When she isn’t writing or reading (which isn’t often) you can find her either doing yoga, going for long walks, or watching old movies.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | BookBub | Pinterest | Instagram

Giveaway

Enter to win a copy of Out of the Ashes by Samantha Grosser!

The giveaway is open internationally and ends on August 31st. You must be 18 or older to enter.

Out of the Ashes