Jun 28 - Jul 29
Jul 14 - Jul 29
Jul 11 - Jul 29
Jul 25 - Jul 26
Jul 16 - Jul 23
Jun 28 - Jul 22
Jun 28 - Jul 22
Jun 28 - Jul 22
Aug 01 - Aug 17
Aug 22 - Sep 09
Aug 30 - Sep 16
Aug 23 - Sep 23
Sep 06 - Sep 23
Sep 05 - Sep 30
Sep 19 - Sep 30
Sep 21 - Oct 14
Oct 11 - Oct 18
Sep 27 - Oct 28
Oct 11 - Nov 11
Nov 28 - Dec 02
Jan 23 - Feb 28
Friday, August 5, 2022

Blog Tour: The Myrtle Wand by Margaret Porter
October 11-18

Posted By amy @ 8:57 am | No Comments

The Myrtle Wand
by Margaret Porter

Publication Date: October 11, 2022
Gallica Press

Genre: Historical Fiction

 

 

The Myrtle Wand, a retelling and a continuation of the classic ballet Giselle, restores original story elements to transform a tale of blighted romances and betrayals into a quest for redemption and restorative love.

Princess Bathilde de Sevreau, her school friend Myrte, and the peasant girl Giselle have heard the legend of the vilis, ghostly maidens who rise from their graves by night to roam the forest, seeking revenge on faithless lovers. Each will fear being ensnared by that spectral sisterhood…

Bathilde, destined for a marriage of convenience with Albin, Duc de Rozel, leaves her ancestral château for the Sun King’s sophisticated and scandalous court. As participants in royal ceremonies and entertainments, the princess and the soldier gradually recognize their deep feelings for each other, as well as mutual hopes for a happy and satisfying union. But the tragic consequences of Albin’s brief masquerade as a commoner and the amorous Louis XIV’s quest for a mistress divide the betrothed couple. Together and separately, they must overcome conflicting duties and unexpected dangers to determine their fate.

Praise

“An absorbing and touching tale . . . a fully realized, moving portrait of the storied court of Louis XIV.” ~ Kirkus Reviews

“Lushly atmospheric . . .rich with historical detail. Porter imagines the story behind the iconic Giselle, transporting us to France during the early reign of the Sun King.” ~ Leslie Carroll, author of Royal Romances

About the Author

MARGARET PORTER is award-winning, bestselling author of The Myrtle Wand (October 2022), The Limits of Limelight (September 2021), Beautiful Invention: A Novel of Hedy Lamarr, and twelve other historical novels. After studying British history in the U.K., she worked professionally in theatre, film, and television. A historian and avid traveler, Margaret returns to Great Britain and Europe for research. She lives in New England with husband and dog, dividing her time between an architecturally unique book-filled house in a small city and a waterfront cottage on one of the region’s largest lakes.

More information is available on her website and blog. You can also connect with her on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Goodreads.

Blog Tour Schedule

Tuesday, October 11
Review at Novels Alive
Review at Michelle the PA Loves to Read

Wednesday, October 12
Review at Books, Cooks, Looks

Thursday, October 13
Review at A Potpourri of Opinions

Friday, October 14
Review at Pursuing Stacie
Excerpt at What Is That Book About

Saturday, October 15
Review at 100 Pages a Day

Sunday, October 16
Excerpt at Reading Is My Remedy

Monday, October 17
Review at Jorie Loves A Story
Review at History from a Woman’s Perspective

Tuesday, October 18
Review at Little But Fierce Book Diary

Under a Veiled Moon
by Karen Odden

Publication Date: October 11, 2022
Crooked Lane Books

Genre: Historical Mystery
Series: An Inspector Corravan Mystery, Book Two

 

 

In the tradition of C. S. Harris and Anne Perry, a fatal disaster on the Thames and a roiling political conflict set the stage for Karen Odden’s second Inspector Corravan historical mystery.

September 1878. One night, as the pleasure boat the Princess Alice makes her daily trip up the Thames, she collides with the Bywell Castle, a huge iron-hulled collier. The Princess Alice shears apart, throwing all 600 passengers into the river; only 130 survive. It is the worst maritime disaster London has ever seen, and early clues point to sabotage by the Irish Republican Brotherhood, who believe violence is the path to restoring Irish Home Rule.

For Scotland Yard Inspector Michael Corravan, born in Ireland and adopted by the Irish Doyle family, the case presents a challenge. Accused by the Home Office of willfully disregarding the obvious conclusion, and berated by his Irish friends for bowing to prejudice, Corravan doggedly pursues the truth, knowing that if the Princess Alice disaster is pinned on the IRB, hopes for Home Rule could be dashed forever.

Corrovan’s dilemma is compounded by Colin, the youngest Doyle, who has joined James McCabe’s Irish gang. As violence in Whitechapel rises, Corravan strikes a deal with McCabe to get Colin out of harm’s way. But unbeknownst to Corravan, Colin bears longstanding resentments against his adopted brother and scorns his help.

As the newspapers link the IRB to further accidents, London threatens to devolve into terror and chaos. With the help of his young colleague, the loyal Mr. Stiles, and his friend Belinda Gale, Corravan uncovers the harrowing truth—one that will shake his faith in his countrymen, the law, and himself.

“The tragic crash of the Princess Alice makes for a thrilling set piece in the triumphant return of Inspector Michael Corravan. When the disaster is dubbed an act of terrorism, the Irish-born Corravan goes back to his old neighborhood of Whitechapel to investigate. He finds “the Chapel” much changed by gangs, prejudice, and violence which threatens to engulf the people he loves and the city of London itself. Rich in emotion and historical detail, Under a Veiled Moon is a brilliant tale of the dark, thorny places where the personal and the political intertwine.” —Mariah Fredericks, award-nominated author of the Jane Prescott series

About the Author

Karen Odden earned her Ph.D. in English from New York University and subsequently taught literature at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. She has contributed essays to numerous books and journals, written introductions for Victorian novels in the Barnes & Noble classics series, and edited for the journal Victorian Literature and Culture (Cambridge UP). Her previous novels, also set in 1870s London, have won awards for historical fiction and mystery. A member of Mystery Writers of America and Sisters in Crime and the recipient of a grant from the Arizona Commission on the Arts, Karen lives in Arizona with her family and her rescue beagle Rosy.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | BookBub | Goodreads