Thursday, January 31, 2013

Maryanne O’Hara on tour for Cascade, April 29 – June 7

Posted By amy @ 1:34 pm | No Comments

Join Maryanne O’Hara as she tours virtually for the paperback release of Cascade from April 29 – June 7.

CascadePublication Date: April 30, 2013
Publisher: Penguin Books
Paperback; 384p

A Slate Magazine “Best Books 2012″
A People Magazine “People Pick”
A Library Journal 2012 “Best Bet”
Boston Globe “Best of the New, 2012”
A Massachusetts “Must Read, 2013”

During the 1930s in a small town fighting for its survival, a conflicted new wife seeks to reconcile her artistic ambitions with the binding promises she has made.

Fans of Richard Russo, Amor Towles, Sebastian Barry, and Paula McLain will devour this transporting novel about the eternal tug between our duties and our desires, set during in New York City and New England during the Depression and New Deal eras.

It’s 1935, and Desdemona Hart Spaulding has sacrificed her plans to work as an artist in New York to care for her bankrupt, ailing father in Cascade, Massachusetts. When he dies, Dez finds herself caught in a marriage of convenience, bound to the promise she made to save her father’s Shakespeare Theater, even as her town may be flooded to create a reservoir for Boston. When she falls for artist Jacob Solomon, she sees a chance to escape and realize her New York ambitions, but is it morally possible to set herself free?

Praise for CASCADE

“The protagonist is Desdemona Hart, a woman drowning in the choices she’s been forced to make: a marriage of necessity to save her father’s legacy and put a roof over his head as he dies……trouble escalates, and so will the rate at which you turn the pages. Cascade is perfect for sitting by the fire on a chilly day contemplating the immutability of things.” –Slate: 2012 Best Books, Staff Picks

“When state engineers created the Quabbin Reservoir in the 1930s, four Central Massachusetts towns disappeared beneath the waters. In her debut novel, Cascade, Ashland resident Maryanne O’Hara chronicles the fate of one such (fictionalized) town and its inhabitants, notably Desdemona Hart Spaulding, an ambitious artist trapped in a loveless marriage. O’Hara, a former Ploughshares fiction editor, shapes her protagonist’s story to pose questions like: If art is not lastingly valuable, what is? Ponder that over your next glass of tap water.” –Boston Globe, Best of the New, 2012

“Gorgeously written and involving, Cascade explores the age-old conflict between a woman’s perceived duty and her deepest desires, but in O’Hara’s skilled hands the struggle feels fresh and new.” –People Magazine

About the AuthorMaryanne O'Hara

Maryanne O’Hara was the longtime associate fiction editor at the award-winning literary journal Ploughshares. She received her MFA from Emerson College fifteen years ago, and wrote short fiction that was widely published before committing to the long form. She lives on a river near Boston.

For more information on Maryanne O’Hara, please visit her website.  You can also find her on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and GoodReads.

Virtual Book Tour Schedule

Monday, April 29
Review & Giveaway at Peeking Between the Pages

Tuesday, April 30
Feature & Giveaway at Passages to the Past

Wednesday, May 1
Review & Giveaway at Sharon’s Garden of Book Reviews

Thursday, May 2
Review & Giveaway at Flashlight Commentary

Friday, May 3
Review at Tiny Library

Wednesday, May 8
Review & Giveaway at Confessions of an Avid Reader

Thursday, May 9
Review at A Bookish Affair
Review & Giveaway at The Relentless Reader

Friday, May 10
Guest Post & Giveaway at A Bookish Affair

Monday, May 13
Review at Write Meg

Tuesday, May 14
Review at Kinx’s Book Nook
Review & Giveaway at Bippity Boppity Book

Wednesday, May 15
Review at Raging Bibliomania

Thursday, May 16
Review & Giveaway at Ageless Pages Reviews

Friday, May 17
Review & Giveaway at The Blue Stocking Society

Monday, May 20
Review at Amused By Books
Review at Oh, For the Hook of a Book!

Tuesday, May 21
Interview & Giveaway at Oh, For the Hook of a Book!

Wednesday, May 22
Review & Giveaway at The Worm Hole

Thursday, May 23
Review at A Book Geek

Friday, May 24
Review & Giveaway at The Picky Girl

Monday, May 27
Review & Giveaway at The Novel Life

Tuesday, May 28
Review & Giveaway at Always with a Book
Review, Guest Post & Giveaway at The Lit Bitch

Wednesday, May 29
Review at Turning the Pages

Thursday, May 30
Guest Post at The Novel Life

Friday, May 31
Interview & Giveaway at Cheryl’s Book Nook

Monday, June 3
Review at Words and Peace

Tuesday, June 4
Review at Historical Tapestry & Adventures of an Intrepid Reader
Giveaway at Words and Peace

Wednesday, June 5
Review & Giveaway at A Chick Who Reads

Thursday, June 6
Review at The Little Reader Library

Friday, June 7
Review at A Novel Review
Review & Interview at A Bookish Libraria

CascadeTourBannerFINAL1 photo CascadeTourBannerFINAL1_zpsa7f9bbc0.jpg

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.